Log in

131st Annual Awards and Installation of Officers

30 Apr 2021 5:10 PM | Joel Hinzman (Administrator)

131st Annual Awards and Installation of Officers

By William O. Ritchie

DCSAR virtually held is 2021 Awards and Installation Banquet on Thursday, April 29, 2021 at 6:30 pm. The black-tie optional event was held via zoom. The first award presented was the 2021 NSSAR Emergency Medical Services Commendation Medal. 

DC Fire and EMS Lt. Keishea Jackson – Courtesy DCFEMS

Lt. Keishea Jackson was the recipient in recognition of her dedication to the preservation of life and health under emergency conditions and performing beyond the duties normally called for within the Emergency Medical Services profession. 

DCSAR S VP Bill Ritchie and Lt. Keishea Jackson

Assigned to the District of Columbia Fire and Emergency Management Service (“DCFEMS”) Homeland Security Division, Lieutenant Jackson has been on the front lines of all the major events to take place and impact Washington, DC., during the last 12 months. She has been one of the officers from DCFEMS to help coordinate and schedule the several logistical parts and pieces connected to COVID-19 testing that has occurred at several firehouses across the city over the last year. Lt Jackson has also been instrumental in taking a public stance on taking the vaccine; opening up and sharing her personal journey and decision-making process on why she felt the need to protect herself, her co-workers and the community in which she serves.

During a press briefing on December 13, 2020 Washington DC Mayor Muriel Bowser recognized The First Five — the first five members of DC’s Bravest who would take the coronavirus vaccine that week. As frontline health care providers, the District of Columbia’s COVID-19 Vaccination Plan designates members of the DC Fire and EMS Department (FEMS) among the first to receive the vaccine in Washington, DC. Lt. Jackson was one of the First Five. 

“I’m getting vaccinated for my city,” Lt. Jackson said in a statement. “In the last nine months, I’ve seen COVID devastate my department. I’ve seen my brothers and sisters go into the hospital. I’ve seen them with severe symptoms — things we never thought we would see. My father is everything to me; he is my world. And if I don’t get it for any other reason, I have to get it for my daddy. I have to make sure he’s safe,” Her comments were featured in a story by NBC4 during December 2020.

DCSAR President Joel P. Hinzman, Sr VP Bill Ritchie and Secretary Paul M. Hays presented a host of awards and citations to DCSAR compatriots and our guest from DCDAR and D.C.C.A.R. Among the recipients were:

D.C. Society Honor in Service Medal Recipients:

  David Weston White 

  Andrew Martin Johnson 

  Sean P. Redmond 

             James Alan Richardson, Jr.

D.C. Society Patriotic Service Medal Recipients


  James Bowles Pender III

  John D. Stonesifer

             Frederick Chandler Humphreys

NSSAR Lydia Darragh Medal Recipient: Jennifer Anne Cetta-Hinzman

Martha Washington Medal Recipient: Rachel Norman, Regent, Emily Nelson Chapter, DCDAR 

NSSAR Medal of Appreciation: Rachel Hicks

NSSAR CAR Bronze Medal of Appreciation Recipients:

  Mia & Miah Malur

  Rachel Hicks

  Dylan Zimmer

  Hillary Fisk

  Maddie McAnulty

 Carol Leon

Silver SAR / CAR Silver Medal of Appreciation Recipients:

 Chip Nordlinger

 Sarah Nordlinger

 Lorraine Nordlinger

 Kathryn Orta

NSSAR Silver Good Citizenship Medal: Charles Hart Nalls

Silver Roger Sherman Medal: Geoffrey L. Newman, 3rd VP DCSAR

State Medal of Distinguished Service: William O. Ritchie Jr., Sr. VP DCSAR

Patriot Medal: Lane Douglas Brooks, Immediate Past President DCSAR

Daughters of Liberty Medal: Cindy Shelton Hays, DCDAR State Regent (oak leaf cluster)

The Honorable Mark S. Norris, Judge, U.S. District Court for the Western District of Tennessee and Immediate Past President, Tennessee Sons of the American Revolution, gave the oath of office during the installation of the 2021-2022 DC Society Officers. Principal officers included President Joel P. Hinzman, Senior Vice President William O. Ritchie Jr., 2nd Vice President Thomas A. Readmond, 3rd Vice President Geoffrey L. Newman, Secretary Paul M. Hays, Treasurer James B. Pender III and Registrar William L. Miller. 

After leading a toast to the newly elected officers, President Hinzman presented the DC Society Honor in Service Medal to Judge Norris. 

The invocation and benediction were offered by Rev. John Stonesifer, Chaplain. 

Copyright D.C. Sons of the American Revolution

The D.C. Sons of the American Revolution is a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable organization. 1801 E Street SEWashington, DC 20003 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software