Log in
  • Home
  • News
  • 132nd Annual Awards and Installation of Officers Banquet

132nd Annual Awards and Installation of Officers Banquet

21 Apr 2022 7:00 PM | William Ritchie (Administrator)

William O. Ritchie Jr was installed as the 113th President of the District of Columbia Society Sons of the American Revolution (DCSAR) during the 132nd Annual Awards and Installation of Officers Banquet. The event was held on April 21, 2022, at the Washington Golf and Country Club. Ritchie succeeded past president Joel Hinzman, who led the organization during the recent two-year pandemic period. Ritchie, known as Bill, last year authored his memoir, “A Black Man’s Journey to the Sons of the American Revolution” chronicling his many life-enhancing experiences from the hills of Beckley, WV., to his membership into DCSAR on July 4, 2016. Since 2020, he served as the society’s senior vice president and public information officer. He is the first known African American to become president in the 132-year history of the society.

The Beckley native was an honors graduate from Stratton High School in May of 1966. Ritchie went on to become Howard University’s first known NCAA all-American in track & field, accomplishing the feat seven times. He was the NCAA College Division 220-yard-dash champion in 1969 and was a 1968 Olympic trials qualifier.

Bill joined the Washington DC Metropolitan Police Department and during his career commanded several prestigious positions including the Homicide, Public Integrity and Organized Crime Branches along with the Medical Services Division. Upon his retirement in 1994, he held the rank of Deputy Chief and the position of Chief of Detectives leading investigators handling some of the most heinous of crimes occurring in the nation’s capital. Major investigations in which he was involved included the attempted assassination of President Ronald Reagan during 1981, the Air Florida plane crash in 1982, and the Shotgun Stalker in 1993

He later served as the first director of the office of decedent affairs at the Washington Hospital Center. This innovative office was established to assist the families of patients who died in the hospital and as an adjunct to the hospital’s organ donation program. Among his volunteer activities were service as a member of the boards of directors of the National Kidney Foundation NCA and the Greater Washington Urban League.

Other officers installed included Thomas Readmond, Sr. VP, Geoffrey Newman, 2nd VP, James Pender, 3rd VP, Secretary Paul Hays, Treasurer James Pender, Registrar William Miller and Chaplain Rev. Dr. John Stonesifer.

New members inducted during the banquet were Victor Michael Barry, Jr. who is a 5th great grandson of Jacob Stetzel, who performed patriotic service by paying the Pennsylvania supply tax in 1783. Jayson William Browder is a 6th great grandson of Austin Stone, who served as a private in Col. Hugh Giles’ Britons Neck Regiment of the South Carolina Militia under Gen. Marion.  He also served as a petit juror and furnished supplies. Daniel Kevin Dorsey is a 5th great grandson Frederick H. Dockstader, a private in the 3rd Regiment of the Tyron County New York Militia. Curtis André Kearns III patriot ancestor was his 5th great grandfather, John Schmeyer, who rendered substantial material aid in South Carolina.  Drew Nathaniel Peterson is a 6th great grandson of Phillip Hoffecker who served as a private in the 2nd Battalion of the Chester County, Pennsylvania Militia.

SAR awards were presented to the following:

D.C. Society Honor in Service Medal:

  • ·         J. Howard Fisk
  • ·         Bradley Zimmer
  • ·         John Brightbill

NSSAR Lydia Darragh Medal:

  • ·         Rachel Hicks

Martha Washington Medal:

  • ·         Leigh Maltby

NSSAR Medal of Appreciation:

  • ·         Lenna Wilson
  • ·         Hillary Fisk
  • ·         Lorraine Nordlinger

Bronze Roger Sherman Medal:

  • ·         Ed Rodriquez
  • ·         Rev. Dr. John Stonesifer
  • ·         Sean Redmond
  • ·         Tom Readmond
  • ·         James Richardson

NSSAR CAR Bronze Medal of Appreciation with Oak Leaf Cluster

  • ·         Maddie McAnulty
  • ·         Carol Leon
  • ·         Mia & Miah Malur
  • ·         Hillary Fisk
  • ·         Rachel Hicks
  • ·         Aiden Sobocinski without Oak Leaf Cluster

Silver SAR / CAR Silver Medal of Appreciation with Oak Leaf Cluster

  • ·         Sarah Nordlinger
  • ·         Lorraine Nordlinger

NSSAR Emergency Medical Services Commendation Medal:

  • ·         Firefighter/EMS Technicians Da’Von McRae and Richard Brady

NSSAR Fire Safety Commendation Medal

  • ·         Fire Chief John A. Donnelly Sr.

NSSAR Law Enforcement Commendation Medal

  • ·         DC Police Chief Robert J. Contee III

Chapter Medal of Distinguished Service

  • ·         Geoff Newman

State Medal of Distinguished Service:

  • ·         Randy Teague

Patriot Medal:

  • ·         Brock Bierman

Daughters of Liberty Medal:

  • ·         Cindy Shelton Hays

War Service Medal:

  • ·         Jack D. Stonesifer Jr.

Copyright D.C. Sons of the American Revolution

The D.C. Sons of the American Revolution is a 501(c)(3) non-profit charitable organization. 1801 E Street SEWashington, DC 20003 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software